EDLine Canada: Beginning the Conversation

Educators got a little closer together today as VoicEd Radio began a new venture, a one-hour open line radio show for Canadians to talk about the education issues they care about – locally, regionally, provincially or nationally.

Thank you to Stephen Hurley for inviting me and Max Cooke (Interim CEO of #EdCan Network/Canadian Education Association) to be part of the conversation.

Our purpose today was to find out what some of the current issues are, with a plan to dedicate future shows to specific issues. Thank you so much to our callers from British Columbia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and Northern Ontario.

We talked about :

  • wellness in schools,
  • capacity-building for mental health awareness,
  • the fine line between knowing what kids need vs. following the curriculum,
  • the school structures that prevent us from innovating
  • the trend to minimizing the number of local trustees [Do elected school boards have a future in Canada?]
  • teacher preparation for the classrooms of today
  • common ground for conversations about education (how to get past the political rhetoric)
  • the many pressures already on educators
  • inclusive education and what models might work
  • the seismic shifts in Ontario, Nova Scotia and Manitoba (arguably Newfoundland and Labrador as well)

What issues would you like to discuss?

Call toll-free 1-855-848-6423 [1-855-84-VOICE] and leave a message, or join in next Sunday March 24 at 12 noon Pacific, 1 pm Mountain, 2 pm Central, 3 p.m. ET, 4 pm Atlantic and 4:30 pm in Newfoundland.

Follow Stephen Hurley and @voicedcanada on Twitter for details.

And why not tune into VoicEd Radio – Education Radio 24/7 online right now? Get the app! [Android here]


Featured Image by Felipe Belluco on Unsplash

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *